Roland JD-Xi pattern transpose and chain?

Forum for the JD-Xi Keyboard.
paulyuk6

Roland JD-Xi pattern transpose and chain?

Post by paulyuk6 »

Greetings all

I just got my JD-Xi a couple of days back and I'm still learning how to use it.

I've got a couple of questions which the manual gives no advice about:

1) Most of the built-in patterns seem to play in a similar key (C minor I think it is!). However no song that I know would stick to a single chord for its entirety. So how do I transpose a pattern to a different chord while it is playing? Or even if it is not playing, is there a way to transpose up or down each part (apart from the drums I suppose). Even better would be a way to change the chord type that it is playing!

2) As the maximum length of a pattern is 4 bars, how do you chain patterns together to make a complete song? If this can't be done, then it means that you have to manually select the patterns each time you want to play a new one. I suppose you could use the Favourites button to store them in the sequence you need, but you would rapidly run out of favourites buttons if you had several songs to play. Also it seems strange that similar pattern styles aren't grouped together for easy selection while playing. If you are doing a live performance, you don't have time to scroll up and down through all the banks to find the next pattern that you need.

Thanks for any advice on the above
All the best

Paul
sleepingangel

Re: Roland JD-Xi pattern transpose and chain?

Post by sleepingangel »