JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthesizer

Forum for the JD-Xi Keyboard.

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby PeZiK » 16:15, 10 April 2017

Thank you baz55, you've doubled the value of the JD-Xi!

I was wondering if this is an option (or just crazy) for future update add on :

1. Randomize button (with percentage 0 - 100%) for highlighted parameters only - or just all parameters in the digital or analog synth engine.

Imagine if you have a patch that's nice and you could alter it with 10% randomization value of all parameters to create slightly different sound. Or go full 100% percentage alter it completely or create something new from scratch.



2. Fetch all patches inside performance and saves them out with default name, to create an huge bank of sounds. ( I was thinking of loop that uses Program Change - reads the parameters - saves it with default name )

For instance : Performance A-1 would be saved :

A1_D1_Ah Supersaw
A1_D2_Scream at me
A1_AN_We'reGoingDn

Then A-2 :

A2_D1_Dist Flt TB2
A2_D2_LFO Resopad 2
A2_AN_SawSweep BS1

etc..

This is just an idea so go easy on me ;)

Best,
P.
PeZiK
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 14:30, 8 May 2016


Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby baz55 » 20:11, 10 April 2017

Thanks for the suggestions PeZiK, a randomize button is already on the to-do list as it was suggested previously, but it will be implemented after I have done the Program and Effects editor.

The automated patch fetch is a good idea too and it shouldn't be complicated to implement so I've put it on the to-do list and will look into it.
baz55
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 19:13, 26 July 2015

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby PeZiK » 00:06, 11 April 2017

Greatly appreciated baz55 :D

P.
PeZiK
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 14:30, 8 May 2016

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby Glycerius374 » 18:36, 12 April 2017

Like the new program icon.
Glycerius374
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 15:58, 5 August 2016

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby CesarsoundOne » 21:34, 12 April 2017

baz55 wrote:Thanks for the suggestions PeZiK, a randomize button is already on the to-do list as it was suggested previously, but it will be implemented after I have done the Program and Effects editor.

The automated patch fetch is a good idea too and it shouldn't be complicated to implement so I've put it on the to-do list and will look into it.


This App is getting better and better like a Pro. Congratulations!

Cheers.
Julio.
User avatar
CesarsoundOne
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 21:29, 9 October 2014

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby Sequentonal » 15:40, 14 April 2017

love it.
got a couple of problems with the new update though.
1. my midi controller doesn't trigger anything in the editor, though it is listed in the midi options, it works for other softsynths no problem, so it's neither the controller nor the connection.
2. hitting Test does trigger the JD-Xi, but trying to read from JD-Xi produces a "No Sysex Data received" message. (I tried RX/TX over all channels)

any ideas?
Sequentonal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 14:10, 14 April 2017

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby baz55 » 16:06, 14 April 2017

Sequentonal wrote:love it.
got a couple of problems with the new update though.
1. my midi controller doesn't trigger anything in the editor, though it is listed in the midi options, it works for other softsynths no problem, so it's neither the controller nor the connection.
2. hitting Test does trigger the JD-Xi, but trying to read from JD-Xi produces a "No Sysex Data received" message. (I tried RX/TX over all channels)

any ideas?


You are misunderstanding the MIDI setup of the editor (which is not your fault as there is no documentation yet).

Both the MIDI Input and Output devices need to be configured to match the MIDI devices connected to the JD-XI, as the JDXi Manager requires bi-directional control of the JD-Xi in order to be able to send and receive data to and from the JD-Xi.
baz55
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 19:13, 26 July 2015

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby Sequentonal » 16:20, 14 April 2017

this is the configuration.
Image

I got no problems using the memory splice editor, but that one hasn't been updated in forever...
Sequentonal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 14:10, 14 April 2017

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby baz55 » 17:07, 14 April 2017

You need to set the "Input MIDI Device" to the MIDI device where the JD-Xi is connected to (presumably that's also "2-JD-Xi", but without knowing your physical MIDI connections I can't tell for sure).
The masterkey cannot be passed through the editor.
baz55
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 19:13, 26 July 2015

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby Sequentonal » 17:44, 14 April 2017

Ahh! now i get it.
wow that is a shame :(

thanks a lot for replying and clarifying :)
Sequentonal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 14:10, 14 April 2017

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby baz55 » 17:54, 14 April 2017

I might add a MIDI pass-through option in future but I didn't think that would be important for many as the JD-Xi has it's own keybed.

Also you should still be able to use your master-keyboard together with the editor with the help of some midi router software that merges the MIDI streams from the editor and the master-keyboard before sending it to the JD-Xi.
baz55
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 19:13, 26 July 2015

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby Sequentonal » 18:21, 14 April 2017

Oh that would indeed be an awesome addition.
Also, midi learn so the editor could be controlled with knobs etc would be insanely useful :)

I'll figure out a way around it for now, though. Thanks a lot :D
Sequentonal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 14:10, 14 April 2017

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby driva » 21:39, 17 April 2017

Hi! Thank you for the cool application! I have problem with opening "DRUMS" window ("Digital" and "Analog" windows I can open): just grey window without any interface elements, and application getting frozen. This problem I have on Win 7 (64-bit). With Win XP the same window ("DRUMS") opens easy and fast. I use latest version of your application. How can I fix it? Thank you!
driva
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21:32, 17 April 2017

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby baz55 » 22:32, 17 April 2017

driva wrote:Hi! Thank you for the cool application! I have problem with opening "DRUMS" window ("Digital" and "Analog" windows I can open): just grey window without any interface elements, and application getting frozen. This problem I have on Win 7 (64-bit).

Can you please email me a screenshot (not a photo, an actual screenshot done by pressing the 'PrtScrn' key and then pasting it into 'Paint' and saving it) of the 'grey window' you are getting so I can try to understand at which exact point the program hangs?
You can find my email address on the JDXi Manager website in the Support section:
http://jdxi-manager.linuxtech.net/#support

In general the JDXi Manager should work and does work on Win7 64 bit, I test it myself on Win7 64 bit.
baz55
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 19:13, 26 July 2015

Re: JDXi Manager - Patch Editor for the Roland JD-Xi Synthes

Postby driva » 08:27, 18 April 2017

baz55 wrote:
driva wrote:Hi! Thank you for the cool application! I have problem with opening "DRUMS" window ("Digital" and "Analog" windows I can open): just grey window without any interface elements, and application getting frozen. This problem I have on Win 7 (64-bit).

Can you please email me a screenshot (not a photo, an actual screenshot done by pressing the 'PrtScrn' key and then pasting it into 'Paint' and saving it) of the 'grey window' you are getting so I can try to understand at which exact point the program hangs?
You can find my email address on the JDXi Manager website in the Support section:
http://jdxi-manager.linuxtech.net/#support

In general the JDXi Manager should work and does work on Win7 64 bit, I test it myself on Win7 64 bit.


Hi! Done. I sent you e-mail "About frozen drums window" to address from official page of JDXI Manager. Will wait for solution. Thank you!
driva
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21:32, 17 April 2017

PreviousNext

Return to JD-Xi Keyboard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest