Using and combining editted patches?

Forum for the JD-Xi Keyboard.

Using and combining editted patches?

Postby ArieGroen » 13:54, 23 November 2017

Hi,

I'm quite new to the JD-Xi so this might be a RTFM question.....

First, As I noticed, when editting a sound (Patch), I can only save this in a Program, am I right?
when so, suppose I saved a patch in program A and one in program B. And now, when creating a new sequence (program C) I like to use both saved patches from program A and B. How do I do that?
I did notice there are sounds/patches in the factory programs which I cannot find with the patch dial i.e.: JP Strings 8. So same question for those sounds too.

Second, when loading a Axial patch/program set, where does it save the new patches? Does it do the same as above or will they be selectable with the patch dial and cursors?

Kind regards,
Arie
ArieGroen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 13:44, 23 November 2017


Re: Using and combining editted patches?

Postby ArieGroen » 10:30, 18 December 2017

Anyone???
ArieGroen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 13:44, 23 November 2017

Re: Using and combining editted patches?

Postby liamjf » 18:11, 20 January 2018

Hi Arie, just noticed this and I'm pretty new to the synth myself but as far as I can tell (and seems to work for me!) then this is what you do:

In kind of reverse order, if loading the Axial preset programs (or from another source, like user programs if they are so good as to provide) then they are loaded into bank S to Z. You need firmware 1.10 and above to do this. Actual specific instructions on how to do this "Functions added in JD-Xi ver 1.10: Adding data from a computer to the JD-Xi" are in the 1.10 Supplemntary manual available here:

https://www.roland.com/us/support/by_pr ... e1ec82274/

Basically, hold down ENTER whilst power up and you will get a drive called "EXTRA" appear on your PC. Inside are folders S to Z. Drag sound libraries (".bin" files) into appropriate (blank) folder and you are away.

JP Strings 8 will basically be an altered version of one of the similar preset tones (like JP Strings 2) with different filter/lfo/amp levels etc. (AFAIK)

Yes, you can combine different sounds (patches) in to the same Program although you have to be a bit canny to find the explanation in the manual. Its actually on page 10 of the original manual plus in the "Errata" manual, here:

https://www.roland.com/us/support/by_pr ... 22de80136/

"Additional function for Pattern Copy" - I know, doesn't sound right at all does it?
Basically it explains to do what you (and I, plus countless others) want to do:

Copy program A (which has the patch A that you want) to a user program (say E1)
The patch you want is the digital synth 1 part but you want the DS2 part from another program (lets say B10)
Be in the DESTINATION program (E1)
Hold down MENU and press "10"
In the Pattern Copy screen, use +/- to select the Program number of the patch you want to copy (B10). Press ENTER
use +/- to select the correct part (DS2). You can copy the digital synth (either DS1 or DS2) to either destination synth (Ds1 or DS2). Press ENTER then use +/- to select "Sound Only". Press ENTER a couple of times. That's it.

Note, you can't have completely different effects on each part so you will just get the effects from the first patch (ie the copied program) but you can get near.

Hope that helps.

Liam.
liamjf
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16:00, 4 July 2016

Re: Using and combining editted patches?

Postby ArieGroen » 13:54, 24 January 2018

Thanks Liam, very helpful!

But one question remains.... when loading new programs in S to Z, will they be selectable with the patch select wheel/buttons or are just the default 256 patches available via this method?

Regards,
Arie
ArieGroen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 13:44, 23 November 2017

Re: Using and combining editted patches?

Postby liamjf » 22:28, 2 February 2018

Hi Arie, the sounds are available as "programs" - selectable by using the PROGRAM +/- keys (Shift plus +/-) to change banks.
The individual tones are not (AFAIK) selectable via the "tones" wheel/buttons; the 256 tones are written and cannot be changed.
New tones (from banks s-z etc.) can themselves be copied and pasted into new programs (user programs E-H or whatever they are; slipped my mind now!)

Hope that helps.

Liam.
liamjf
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16:00, 4 July 2016

Re: Using and combining editted patches?

Postby ArieGroen » 16:36, 5 February 2018

Thanks Liam
ArieGroen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 13:44, 23 November 2017


Return to JD-Xi Keyboard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests