SH-01A Volume Very Low

Forum for boutique synths

SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby wesjames » 23:15, 1 October 2017

Sorry if this has been answered already- trying to save myself a bit of time.

My SH-01A is very (very) quiet compared to me JU-06. Obviously volume is at same level, have tried different inputs for each, different cables, etc. still can't figure it out. Any help? Should I return it?

p.s. love these synths
wesjames
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23:11, 1 October 2017


Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby wesjames » 02:24, 4 October 2017

bump
wesjames
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23:11, 1 October 2017

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby epadin » 10:34, 5 October 2017

I dont know if this helps but a friend of mine had that problem first day, he was using a stereo cable for the output and the volume was almost nothing. He changed to mono cable and then the volume was as loud as the rest of equipement.
epadin
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 19:39, 2 October 2017

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby GSE » 16:00, 6 October 2017

I also used a mono cord and it sounds ok on my mixer. However when I plug the output into Eurorack the sound is very low.
GSE
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 15:55, 6 October 2017

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby afewster » 05:58, 20 January 2018

Same thing here - purchased today. Using usb for power and audio - very quiet (esp compared to SE-02)
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] quiet sh01a.mov [ 12.94 MiB | Viewed 234 times ]

afewster
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 07:41, 22 May 2015
Location: California via the UK

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby hafizimran » 15:54, 23 January 2018

I can confirm this. I am using the SH-01a with USB for both power and audio, straight into Logic Pro X. The signal barely hits the halfway mark on the recording VU meter.

afewster wrote:Same thing here - purchased today. Using usb for power and audio - very quiet (esp compared to SE-02)
hafizimran
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 15:47, 23 January 2018

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby afewster » 23:06, 23 January 2018

[quote="hafizimran"]I can confirm this. I am using the SH-01a with USB for both power and audio, straight into Logic Pro X. The signal barely hits the halfway mark on the recording VU meter.

I actually took it back to the store to exchange it - before I completed the switch I tested the output on the new model - same thing! This can't be right - I'm on mac 10.13.2, using the 1.0.2 driver.
afewster
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 07:41, 22 May 2015
Location: California via the UK

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby sienna909 » 22:36, 24 January 2018

Bump too. Low volume and background hiss :(
sienna909
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 22:33, 24 January 2018

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby Crumb » 18:25, 9 February 2018

hafizimran wrote:I can confirm this. I am using the SH-01a with USB for both power and audio, straight into Logic Pro X. The signal barely hits the halfway mark on the recording VU meter.

afewster wrote:Same thing here - purchased today. Using usb for power and audio - very quiet (esp compared to SE-02)




I had low audio issues a while back when I was trying to connect my Gaia Sh01 to Logic via USB. I posted on a forum about it and was told that while the digital USB signal would be nice and clean, it would also be low. Adding a compressor to the channel strip in Logic and turning up the gain fixed the problem.
Crumb
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 00:15, 2 March 2017

Re: SH-01A Volume Very Low

Postby hafizimran » 11:21, 14 February 2018

Crumb wrote:I had low audio issues a while back when I was trying to connect my Gaia Sh01 to Logic via USB. I posted on a forum about it and was told that while the digital USB signal would be nice and clean, it would also be low. Adding a compressor to the channel strip in Logic and turning up the gain fixed the problem.


Hey Mr Crumb thank you for your response, very much appreciated!

And yes, as a workaround, I apply compression during the mixing process to boost levels coming in from the SH-01A. I also observe that the signal via USB is very clean, just like you said, so boosting it this way isn't all too bad. It just goes against my existing approach where I try to record a signal as hot as I can without clipping.

To add to the body of observations, today I purchased the Roland Boutique D-05 and I also own the TR-08. I can confirm that the D-05 exhibits THE EXACT SAME CHARACTERISTICS as the SH-01A when it comes to signal output via USB.

The TR-08 somehow does not exhibit this symptom. I have no hands-on experience with the SE-02.
hafizimran
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 15:47, 23 January 2018


Return to Boutique Synths

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest