DS88 (or) DS61 + FP10

Forum for Juno-DS and XPS-30 keyboards
Vihan

DS88 (or) DS61 + FP10

Post by Vihan »

Hello Everyone,

I’m thinking to buy Juno DS and can’t decide yet for DS88 or DS61/FP10 set up. Both ways are in same price range.
My goal is to produce some fusion/world music and in the same time I would like to play/practice classical Piano too.

I have experience with my uncle’s Yamaha acoustic Baby Grand for over 3 years and so I really love the PHA4 action on Fp30x as soon as I touch the keys even without power on. But 30x + ds61 is out of my budget so Im thinking for Fp10 + ds61.
But instead of buying two KBs. I just wanna know DS88 can do both for production and piano feels? I have no experience with DS88 keys and I read online it also great for Piano playing too. So my questions are,

1. Is DS61 synth keys better than DS88 weighted keys in ethnic instruments playing? Like flutes, bowed etc…
2. Does DS88 have string resonance/ key off resonance like fp10?
3. Can I play DS sounds from FP10 via Midi?

Thanks
Hav a good day!
xp30

Re: DS88 (or) DS61 + FP10

Post by xp30 »

Regarding the feel of weighted keys on the DS-88 vs FP-10: I always recommend going to a store that has them on display, and trying them. It is a very subjective topic, and the important part is if the action feels right to you, and not if it feels right to someone else.

Playing other instruments on a keyboard has a lot to do with practice. For example, I find it interesting that Jordan Rudess uses a Kronos with weighted 88 keys live, although he primarily plays fast synth licks. I do not have the finger strength for that, however, if I would have practiced more piano, then maybe I would prefer a weighted action.

If you are on a tight budget, then I would recommend taking a look at the used market. I have seen many offers for these entry-level instruments in good condition at a fraction of the price that you pay for a new one.
vespina

Post by vespina »