System-8 vs Blofeld?

Forum for Roland's System-8 synthesizer
buffer

System-8 vs Blofeld?

Post by buffer »

Hi,

I am a synth newbie and currently have a JD-Xi and JP-08. I am thinking of stepping up, and I really like the looks of the System-8. I like that there is one knob per function and I like the plugout idea. Also the arpeggiator and sequencer look good. If it were $500 cheaper I wouldn't be asking this question.

The Blofeld seems to be very well regarded, maybe better regarded than the S8. Definitely known for having an extreme range of sounds, with good quality. But the interface scares me a bit, I HATE HATE HATE menu diving, which is part of the reason I want to sell the Xi. (The other reasons are I want full size keys and real ADSR controls)

Can anyone who has owned the 2 provide a comparison of how it is to use them, and their range of possibilities? Do you think the limit of 8 voices is a problem for the S8?

Just for reference I like everything from piano to chiptunes to industrial to synthwave to ambient.

Thanks--
mimoid

Re: System-8 vs Blofeld?

Post by mimoid »

buffer wrote:Hi,

I am a synth newbie and currently have a JD-Xi and JP-08. I am thinking of stepping up, and I really like the looks of the System-8. I like that there is one knob per function and I like the plugout idea. Also the arpeggiator and sequencer look good. If it were $500 cheaper I wouldn't be asking this question.

The Blofeld seems to be very well regarded, maybe better regarded than the S8. Definitely known for having an extreme range of sounds, with good quality. But the interface scares me a bit, I HATE HATE HATE menu diving, which is part of the reason I want to sell the Xi. (The other reasons are I want full size keys and real ADSR controls)

Can anyone who has owned the 2 provide a comparison of how it is to use them, and their range of possibilities? Do you think the limit of 8 voices is a problem for the S8?