Beginner and in need of an iPad/Phone for Roland RD-88

Stage Pianos
128notes

Beginner and in need of an iPad/Phone for Roland RD-88

Post by 128notes »

Hello! I don't know if I'm posting this thread on the right page. I'm a Beginner in music and new to this forum. I've been hesitating to join this forum since i just started playing piano as a hobby and there's a lot of good information here that one day i can catch up and review, and Thank you! Anyway, i have owned an RD-88 for the past year and this is my first full 88 keys. I really like the action and keybed! Right now I'm on a hunt for iPad or Phone that can communicate better with the Rd-88. Of course the budget one :) Audio/video basic Recording. Also helps me to practice Music sheets. Since i have an old iPhone 6 that is outdated, I'm confused about which one to get, about all the versions and updates i might end up buying the wrong one. If you guys have any suggestions, it will help me a lot! Thanks!
xp30

Re: Beginner and in need of an iPad/Phone for Roland RD-88

Post by xp30 »

128notes wrote: 15:45, 2 May 2023 Right now I'm on a hunt for iPad or Phone that can communicate better with the Rd-88. Of course the budget one :) Audio/video basic Recording. Also helps me to practice Music sheets.
Can you go into more details about what you would like to do with the iPhone/iPad and the RD-88? You mentioned audio/video basic recording. AFAIK, the USB audio interface on the RD-88 is NOT class compliant, and will not work with iPhones and iPads. The RD-88 also does not support video over USB.
128notes

Post by 128notes »

xp30 wrote: 18:45, 4 May 2023
128notes wrote: 15:45, 2 May 2023 Right now I'm on a hunt for iPad or Phone that can communicate better with the Rd-88. Of course the budget one :) Audio/video basic Recording. Also helps me to practice Music sheets.
Can you go into more details about what you would like to do with the iPhone/iPad and the RD-88? You mentioned audio/video basic recording.