Need amplification for RD-88 (beginner who doesn't speak amp) :)

Stage Pianos
jtsousa

Need amplification for RD-88 (beginner who doesn't speak amp) :)

Post by jtsousa »

I'm an intermediate player who has taken up piano lessons again as an adult. I just traded my Roland RP501 for an RD-88 stage piano, as I needed something portable that would take up less space in my living room. I love playing the RD-88, but I'm realizing that the speakers are much quieter than my previous piano (which I get makes sense, since it's a stage piano). This is a problem for my Zoom lessons. So I need to find a way to amplify it. I have very little space, so if I get an amp it needs to be small. Ideally I would love to be able to plug a mic into it as well because I sing and play. I am a total beginner to amps and sound amplification, so I don't understand all the sound and amp jargon. All I know is that I shouldn't buy a guitar amp. I was reading some old threads here and someone mentioned the Vox VX50KB. Do you think that would be the best option? Does anything exist that's even smaller that I can still plug a mic into? I also read somewhere that a PA speaker might be an alternative, but I don't get the difference between the two. If someone could give me some advice, I would really appreciate it. Thank you!!
Stuart100

Re: Need amplification for RD-88 (beginner who doesn't speak amp) :)

Post by Stuart100 »

Hi.

I use Yamaha active monitor speakers and an active sub woofer which are great. Active means there is an amp in each speaker. But if u need portability then a keyboard combo Amp or small PA would work. They would probably have a mic input too. But it really depends on how much you want to spend. Try them out with a piano if you can before you buy.