Stop button stopped working properly :(

Forum for MV-8000/8800

Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby conecthink » 15:36, 3 October 2016

The button works if i press on it hard and wiggle it a bit...sometimes

normal operation is gone though. I tried with compressed air to fix it externaly but it didnt help

if I open the machine is it something I could fix by reajusting a spring or cleaning a contact? a simple fix sortasay

I have absolutely no expertise in soldering or electrical stuff but the fact that it still works (very bad) gives me some hope that I dont have to replace and/or solder things.
conecthink
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 11:43, 10 November 2015


Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby Soul One » 16:59, 3 October 2016

You can try Deoxit. If that doesn´t help you´ll need to solder in a new tact switch. You can get a replacement from Roland directly.

Of course you can also send it to Roland for repair.
User avatar
Soul One
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 00:28, 9 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby conecthink » 19:09, 3 October 2016

thanks for the reply...

for the deoxit i see two products that seem to fit the bill.. deoxit d5 and d100. which one would you recommend?

how would I do this btw...still open the machine or spray some through the gaps at the button?
conecthink
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 11:43, 10 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby Soul One » 22:10, 3 October 2016

Deoxit D5!

You´ll have to take the MV apart to be able to spray it directly onto/into the tact switch.
User avatar
Soul One
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 00:28, 9 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby conecthink » 14:49, 15 October 2016

thnx for the support man

i got the stuff..went in the machine removed drives and that metal plate...hoping there would be some a small circuitboard I could easily flip and treat the switch with the deoxit... tough luck.. the circuitboard with the transport buttons is kinda trapped beneath the fan compartment and the motherboard. no way you can do anything from this state of the machine


the way I see it you have to do close to a complete disasembly of the mv to get to that button comfortable my strategy to get there still unknown. take out every part individualy untill i can get to it? or I could see some way of keeping the asembly inside rather complete if I detach the backplate from the housing..dunno


it is what it is I guess..

just putting it out there for anybody else with the same problem that it requires quite a bit of work to get there. and than quite a bit of work to put the MV back together
conecthink
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 11:43, 10 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby Soul One » 19:46, 15 October 2016

Yes, taking the MV apart is a PITA. I´ve documented it here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52205
User avatar
Soul One
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 00:28, 9 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby conecthink » 15:22, 17 October 2016

I took it apart...In the end it was Okay..not to difficult with the help of your pictures..

Now I can reach the button...the button/switch is a 3piece part.....the visible from outside part goes of easy (the button)..but then youre left with a piece thats in the switch. It feels quite dangerous to try to get that out. I think I see what I have to do..but the plastic seems quite fragile..dont wanna screw it up.

you figure I can spray the deoxit past the piece thats in switch?

tnx
conecthink
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 11:43, 10 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby Soul One » 17:54, 17 October 2016

Yes, spray it into the switch, it will find it´s way. Do not disassemble the switch!
User avatar
Soul One
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 00:28, 9 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby conecthink » 09:02, 19 October 2016

it failed...bad thing is I decided to use the D5 on the other 3 transport buttons aswell.

i sprayed a short burst in the affected switch... worked the mechanism a bit to get it in..and all seemed well. So I decided to give the play/back/rec buttons a maintenance spray..

After a while I noticed the switches became sturdy and less clicky, (if thatmakessense) like the spring in the switch losing tension... every switch with the exact same behaviour

I had a bad feeling but thought maybe its dirt that got loose maybe it had to dry out. So i got to assembling the machine. All went well. got the machine back in one piece and operating fine...but the stop/rec/back/play buttons all stopped working...staying very rigid (on my machine these buttons were quite loose or lets say I notice a big difference with how the buttons feel now)

I still have some hope that the sollution still needs to dry more. but i tried this morning still no luck, and a solid 18 hour have passed now.

obv not blaming you, you just trying to help...you sure that switch can take deoxit d5? I googled tactswitch and it looks nothing like the type of switch i find under the transport buttons.

those type of (tact) switches are present all over that circuitboard..but the ones for transport are very different
conecthink
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 11:43, 10 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby Soul One » 10:24, 19 October 2016

Sorry to hear that. I´ve never heard of Deoxit destroying tact switches. I know that the transport switches are different from the others and have used Deoxit D5 on both types without a problem.

Have you contacted Roland yet? You can buy these tact switches from them if they have them in stock. ALPS discontinued them years ago unfortunately...

Are you comfortable at soldering? Where are you located?
User avatar
Soul One
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 00:28, 9 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby conecthink » 22:24, 19 October 2016

yeah its weird..also that every switch reacted the same...my method was a short spray work it in by clicking a bit and add another short spray a bit later from the other side (it was on the instruction on the can)..maybe to much? although I feel that shouldnt be a problem...or atleast wouldnt affect every switch negatively.

if I use the mouse btw to work the transport the leds above the buttons all still work..

I did notice the machine was a mess inside alot of fine dust that i had to blast of with a can of air and vacuuming..could be that there to much stuff in the switch that dislodged and that was actually a bad thing. The buttons also feel like that now, like theres something in the way and its not making contact

im from the netherlands...not comfortable soldering but I could learn with a arduino learning kit or something...I can find someone to do it for me aswell
conecthink
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 11:43, 10 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby conecthink » 13:42, 21 October 2016

ive contacted a few servicecenters from the Roland website and made a request from the roland parts page....

now lets wait to see the prices :-)

If the prices are more than I expect is there a less expensive and prolly less elegant sollution to get these buttons working again?

can I use just your standard tactswitch? If I look on google shopping theres wide array of all sorts of tactswitches with push buttons on them...dirt cheap....can i use these? what kind of things do I need to know to know if they are suited for the job?
conecthink
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 11:43, 10 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby Soul One » 17:47, 21 October 2016

If Roland has the switches in stock (their part number is 00894645) then the cheapest way to fix the MV would be to have them soldered in by someone you know. I suppose they won´t cost more than a couple of bucks each.

Unfortunately the original switches (made by ALPS; part number is SKECAFA010) were discontinued a long time ago. I´ve looked for them a couple of times online to no avail.
There are stores where you can find them but they are way overpriced IMHO. I recall seeing them in a spanish webshop.

Another option would be to purchase cheap used gear that uses the same switches. I could imagine some of the Roland VS recorders using the same switches.

ALPS themselves don´t have a direct replacement, only ones that are similar in specs but with different measurements. Plus the top of the newer ones is different, so the buttons won´t fit.

Maybe you could do a ghetto mod if all else fails...
User avatar
Soul One
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 00:28, 9 November 2015

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby HattyDamp » 17:40, 13 February 2017

Hi everyone...i am a new user here.As per my knowledge the circuitboard with the transport buttons is kinda trapped beneath the fan compartment and the motherboard. no way you can do anything from this state of the machine.The way I see it you have to do close to a complete disasembly of the mv to get to that button comfortable my strategy to get there still unknown.
HattyDamp
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 17:29, 13 February 2017

Re: Stop button stopped working properly :(

Postby Soul One » 21:09, 13 February 2017

HattyDamp wrote:my strategy to get there still unknown.


Then read this: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52205
User avatar
Soul One
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 00:28, 9 November 2015

Next

Return to MV-8000/8800

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest