Triplet arp?

Forum for the JD-XA.

Triplet arp?

Postby Myrk- » 10:08, 20 April 2017

Hey guys, I feel almost stupid asking this question as I mess with arpeggiators all the time... but whats the simple way to get a 3 octave triplet arp going? I want like a C2, C3, C4 repeat tone. What I found was that in all arp modes putting 3 octave on 1 note makes it do a C2, C3, C4, C3 repeat, rather than the 3 note rep I'm after. The only way I know of is to code a custom pattern arp of 3 notes, but that seems long winded for such a normal pattern.

I'm sure there's some simple setting here I've missed out right?
User avatar
Myrk-
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 19:45, 27 August 2016
Location: Taunton, UK


Re: Triplet arp?

Postby cello » 10:05, 21 April 2017

Select 1/12 (3) in the GRID section of the Arp on-screen functions. Make sure the Motif is set to UP. I think that should give you what you're looking for :)
User avatar
cello
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: 11:47, 1 August 2011
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Triplet arp?

Postby Myrk- » 12:21, 23 April 2017

Nope. It still does c2, c3, c4, c3, rather than a 3 note sequence. It just times it to triplet timing, but it's still playing a 4 note pattern. I tried pressing the scale button too in hope that some random feature would unlock itself... (much like when I held down shift one time and bumped my modulation wheel by accident to find that's where the option for wheel LFO mod is).

This seems really strange to me... I may just have to make a load of way more useful arp patterns - strange how the arp is so timid on the JD-XA compared with the FA's arp and all thos crazy features.
User avatar
Myrk-
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 19:45, 27 August 2016
Location: Taunton, UK

Re: Triplet arp?

Postby sbardy » 20:55, 7 May 2017

It's a bug , Roland jd xi is affected too viewtopic.php?f=58&t=53524 I hope Roland can fix it asap
sbardy
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16:42, 7 May 2017

Re: Triplet arp?

Postby Myrk- » 12:04, 22 May 2017

Arg ffs... Roland! WHO TESTS THIS STUFF!? lol

I'll just have to code a triplet arp every time I need it... Can I program a custom arp template?
User avatar
Myrk-
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 19:45, 27 August 2016
Location: Taunton, UK


Return to JD-XA Keyboard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests