Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Forum for Integra 7

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby DEVO-UK » 21:10, 9 March 2013

Hi

I have this same problem too.

I'm using Logic linked to the I7 for my backing tracks for live work. I have midi thru on so i can add an additional synth. This appears to be a bug.

The guy at Roland has had me doing all sorts, but it just aint working.

Is there a fix due?
DEVO-UK
 
Posts: 116
Joined: 21:14, 16 August 2011


Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby theshinenz » 06:23, 25 June 2013

Im having this issue aswell, keep getting the cant receive midi message up, tried pluggin direct and wirelessly, just seems flaky, worked for a while then one work again :-/
theshinenz
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 06:16, 12 August 2005

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby DEVO-UK » 17:32, 24 July 2013

I had this problem and found a solution.

I had the Midi Thru option enabled, as I was coming out of the Macbook into the integra and then out to a Virus.

Turned off the Midi Thru and the ipad hooked up and worked fine.

So check if you have Midi Thru enabled.
DEVO-UK
 
Posts: 116
Joined: 21:14, 16 August 2011

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby WallyG » 02:55, 29 July 2013

theshinenz wrote:Im having this issue aswell, keep getting the cant receive midi message up, tried pluggin direct and wirelessly, just seems flaky, worked for a while then one work again :-/


I picked up my new I-7 this Friday and love it, but I also can't get my "new iPad" to work with the unit. I tried it both ways with a stand-alone ad-hoc approach and just connecting to my home network, but I get the "Connection Error Cannot received MIDI message."

I've checked on all the proposed fixes, but nothing makes it work. I-7 hooks up to the network just fine.

Walt
WallyG
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 22:52, 17 June 2013

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby Lwxian » 03:29, 29 July 2013

I faced the same problem and finally figure out the solution!

The midi device id and the ipad device id need to match!

Under integra7 - studio set menu - system - midi, there is a device id. Set to any number you like... Eg 25

If you want to play safe, set the wireless id also to the same number... Under integra7 - studio set menu - wireless - options...

Then make sure your ipad integra7 editor - settings, device id use the same no. Then everything should work... It is the device id that need to match in order for ipad app to work.

Midi thru or not does not matter.

Cheers!
Wey Hsien
Lwxian
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01:29, 29 July 2013

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby PauloF » 13:19, 29 July 2013

Lwxian wrote:I faced the same problem and finally figure out the solution!

The midi device id and the ipad device id need to match!

Under integra7 - studio set menu - system - midi, there is a device id. Set to any number you like... Eg 25

If you want to play safe, set the wireless id also to the same number... Under integra7 - studio set menu - wireless - options...

Then make sure your ipad integra7 editor - settings, device id use the same no. Then everything should work... It is the device id that need to match in order for ipad app to work.

Midi thru or not does not matter.

Cheers!
Wey Hsien


To play even safer, use Device ID=17
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 3614
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby WallyG » 16:06, 29 July 2013

Lwxian wrote:I faced the same problem and finally figure out the solution!

The midi device id and the ipad device id need to match!

Under integra7 - studio set menu - system - midi, there is a device id. Set to any number you like... Eg 25

If you want to play safe, set the wireless id also to the same number... Under integra7 - studio set menu - wireless - options...

Then make sure your ipad integra7 editor - settings, device id use the same no. Then everything should work... It is the device id that need to match in order for ipad app to work.

Midi thru or not does not matter.

Cheers!
Wey Hsien


Thanks, but I tried that during the setup. DId not make any difference. All other parameters, settings, etc. have been set up according to the tips on this thread but I still get the same message.
I won't take it personal. :-) and will still plug away at it in my spare time. (Low priority)

Thanks again,

Walt
WallyG
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 22:52, 17 June 2013

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby WallyG » 23:58, 3 August 2013

WallyG wrote:
Lwxian wrote:I faced the same problem and finally figure out the solution!

The midi device id and the ipad device id need to match!

Under integra7 - studio set menu - system - midi, there is a device id. Set to any number you like... Eg 25

If you want to play safe, set the wireless id also to the same number... Under integra7 - studio set menu - wireless - options...

Then make sure your ipad integra7 editor - settings, device id use the same no. Then everything should work... It is the device id that need to match in order for ipad app to work.

Midi thru or not does not matter.

Cheers!
Wey Hsien


Thanks, but I tried that during the setup. DId not make any difference. All other parameters, settings, etc. have been set up according to the tips on this thread but I still get the same message.
I won't take it personal. :-) and will still plug away at it in my spare time. (Low priority)

Thanks again,

Walt


I found some spare time today and found the root cause of why my iPad wouldn't connect. It's a duh factor. I did not select "Integra-7_17" under "MIDI Devices".
Works fine. It does help with navigating instruments, and some preliminary settings, but as others have pointed out, could use some functional enhancements

Walt
WallyG
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 22:52, 17 June 2013

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby PauloF » 23:50, 4 August 2013

WallyG wrote:
WallyG wrote:
Lwxian wrote:I faced the same problem and finally figure out the solution!

The midi device id and the ipad device id need to match!

Under integra7 - studio set menu - system - midi, there is a device id. Set to any number you like... Eg 25

If you want to play safe, set the wireless id also to the same number... Under integra7 - studio set menu - wireless - options...

Then make sure your ipad integra7 editor - settings, device id use the same no. Then everything should work... It is the device id that need to match in order for ipad app to work.

Midi thru or not does not matter.

Cheers!
Wey Hsien


Thanks, but I tried that during the setup. DId not make any difference. All other parameters, settings, etc. have been set up according to the tips on this thread but I still get the same message.
I won't take it personal. :-) and will still plug away at it in my spare time. (Low priority)

Thanks again,

Walt


I found some spare time today and found the root cause of why my iPad wouldn't connect. It's a duh factor. I did not select "Integra-7_17" under "MIDI Devices".
Works fine. It does help with navigating instruments, and some preliminary settings, but as others have pointed out, could use some functional enhancements

Walt


I don't want to say...I told you so ;-)
Take care
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 3614
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby WallyG » 16:45, 5 August 2013

PauloF wrote:
WallyG wrote:
Lwxian wrote:I faced the same problem and finally figure out the solution!

The midi device id and the ipad device id need to match!

Under integra7 - studio set menu - system - midi, there is a device id. Set to any number you like... Eg 25

If you want to play safe, set the wireless id also to the same number... Under integra7 - studio set menu - wireless - options...

Then make sure your ipad integra7 editor - settings, device id use the same no. Then everything should work... It is the device id that need to match in order for ipad app to work.

Midi thru or not does not matter.

Cheers!
Wey Hsien



I found some spare time today and found the root cause of why my iPad wouldn't connect. It's a duh factor. I did not select "Integra-7_17" under "MIDI Devices".
Works fine. It does help with navigating instruments, and some preliminary settings, but as others have pointed out, could use some functional enhancements

Walt


I don't want to say...I told you so ;-)
Take care


Hi Paulo,

I do appreciate all the help/info from this forum and noticed that you're a valuable contributer. I not sure though where any of the "Integra 7 not working with iPad" posts discussed the MIDI Device settings. I also re-read the 4 page About the Wireless LAN Function write up from Roland and MIDI Device settings was not discussed there either. Several references to "WIreless ID", but nothing about the MIDI Device settings.

MIDI Device settings should read "Integra-7_17". The first couple times I checked that setting it was blank, but it finally came up with Integra-7_17. Since this was not addressed in the documentation, I did not know what to expect. I use this in my home studio, so I didn't need the Ad-Hoc mode.

I'm just starting to use the Free-Ware I-7 Sound Editor, so this might make the iPad app redundant.

Happy Monday to you!

Walt
WallyG
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 22:52, 17 June 2013

Re: Integra 7: Not working with iPad

Postby PauloF » 18:47, 5 August 2013

WallyG wrote:Hi Paulo,

I do appreciate all the help/info from this forum and noticed that you're a valuable contributer. I not sure though where any of the "Integra 7 not working with iPad" posts discussed the MIDI Device settings. I also re-read the 4 page About the Wireless LAN Function write up from Roland and MIDI Device settings was not discussed there either. Several references to "WIreless ID", but nothing about the MIDI Device settings.

MIDI Device settings should read "Integra-7_17". The first couple times I checked that setting it was blank, but it finally came up with Integra-7_17. Since this was not addressed in the documentation, I did not know what to expect. I use this in my home studio, so I didn't need the Ad-Hoc mode.

I'm just starting to use the Free-Ware I-7 Sound Editor, so this might make the iPad app redundant.

Happy Monday to you!

Walt


Don't take it hard, as I was joking ;-). In fact the "I told you so" comes from my previous post http://forums.rolandclan.com/viewtopic.php?f=54&t=45988&start=15#p270675, as it is one of the less discussed subjects (The MIDI device ID), so people often tend to not consider it. On the contrary this is a showstopper if we forget it.

cheers,
Paulo
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 3614
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Previous

Return to Integra 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests